What Skin Type Am I?

As my regular readers know I’m in love with aromatherapy and skin care.  It my passion, my life, my work, my love!  I was drawn to it years ago in my search for natural remedies for my own bad skin.  My skin still takes constant care to keep it in tip top shape…good quality organic skincare that I make myself and you can buy too…find out more here, along with a healthy diet and lifestyle.  I’ll be sharing lots more information about natural skincare here so if there is anything you’d like to know more about please drop me a line.

Today I thought I’d give you a little overview of skin types.  I’m going to keep it simple.  Please remember that everyone is different and your skin changes due to many factors over time so it may not be as simple as having one skin type and/or condition to deal with.  If you have any concerns about your skin I suggest you see your therapist for a thorough consultation and analysis of your skin and what’s best for it.

Know your skin type

Let’s start off with a couple of definitions shall we?

Skin Type or Condition?

Skin Conditions: All skin types can be affected by many conditions due to external and internal factors including the environment, stress, diet, hydration, medication, lack of sleep, hormones, incorrect product use and general lifestyle choices. This may lead to conditions such as dehydration, sun damage, congestion, blemishes, sensitivity and many more.  We will talk, in future posts, about some of these conditions and how to naturally treat and care for them.  But for now back to skin types…

Skin Types: You’ve probably been told that you’ve got either Dry, Normal, Oily or Combination skin.  These are all skin types and describe the balance of sebum (oils) in the skin as well as the general feel and appearance of the skin.

What skin type am I?

Here is a basic outline of how each skin type may look or feel.  Remember to keep in mind that your skin does vary and change over time.  And, as always, if you’re unsure consult your therapist for advice.

Dry – fine texture, extremely small pores, can look dull, feels tight, dry to touch, can be flaky and often prone to sensitivity.

Normal – normal to fine texture, feels soft and smooth, no areas of excessive oil or dryness, can experience occasional oil in the t-zone, feels comfortable, clear, no flakiness or sensitivity.

Oily – enlarged visible pores, may have course uneven texture, overall oiliness, looks shiny, prone to blemishes, blackheads and acne.

Combination – a combination of normal, dry and oily areas. It can vary from normal to oily or normal to dry.  Normal to oily skins usually experience an oily t-zone with some clogging and blemishes or blackheads, with cheeks feeling normal.  Normal to dry skins usually have a normal t-zone with the cheek area being dry.

So there we have it, a nice little summary of skin types.  Do you know what your skin type is?  And how are you looking after it?  In upcoming posts I’m going to talk a little more about each skin type and how you can best look after it naturally and simply with aromatherapy and natural products.  Stay tuned for some great tips!  And before I go you might also like this post about the benefits of facials.

In Health and Happiness, Dee xxx

2 thoughts on “What Skin Type Am I?

Leave a Reply

