Kate ~ writer, editor and sometimes photographer

My beautiful friend Kate has a life I’d be very envious of if I wasn’t happy with my own…actually if I’m totally honest I would like a little taste of her London city life every now and then!!!  Doing this interview with her brought back lots of memories…our friendship began 18 years ago (gulp!) while working in the same building in Chatswood (Sydney, Australia) and continued on from there…lots of great times!  Not to mention someones 21st!!  (but that’s another story).  Anyway, back to the interview…I wanted to feature her on my blog because she is a strong, intelligent, funny woman and a loyal friend who has always inspired me to expand my world and improve myself.

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Well, my name is Kate. I was born in Sydney, but now live in London (by way of Japan, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Cameroon, Dubai, and India) with my half-French half-English husband and my cat, Goose.

I’ve been in London for three years this time around and I still find it intoxicating. I live centrally so there’s a world of culture, art, fashion, and history on my doorstep. I have family here and in France, which helps make me feel at home and grounded.

Goose

What or who inspires you?

My friends and my family inspire me the most, but I’m intrigued and influenced by lots of different people, whether I’ve met them in person, read about them in a book or fall in love with their work.

What are you passionate about?

Again, I’d have to say people. I have an insatiable curiosity for observing the human condition, which is a wanky way of saying that I’m a voyeur of sorts. I love how everyone is so different and am constantly fascinated by the way people navigate and make sense of their world. Quirks and idiosyncrasies and interactions. I’m never bored.

Books do it for me too. Novels, biographies, coffee table tomes. Anything goes. My shelves are literally all bendy and overflowing.

I know you’ve travelled a lot? What is your favourite place and why?

I get asked that a lot and I always struggle to answer. All of my favourite places are linked to experience. SCUBA diving off the coast of Madang (Papua New Guinea) with my future husband, visiting Paris with my sister, staying in a rambling old house in Tuscany with some of my best friends in the last week’s of summer, eating lobster in Greenport (Long Island, New York), listening to the most amazing 10-piece band at Le Senat in Doula (Cameroon) every Saturday night, sitting on the deck after a steaming summer’s day in Sydney and the first warning signs of the Southerly Buster. The list is endless, and deeply personal.

Tell us about your work.

I work as a writer, editor and sometimes photographer covering fashion, literature, beauty, wellbeing, travel, politics, food and photography. My work has appeared in lots of different publications, such as Time Out, Harper’s Bazaar, Esquire and the like. I’m also co-writing a memoir with a singer and have written a novel.

i am not a celebrity

My blog i am not a celebrity keeps me busy too. I started it in 2010. I’d just moved from Dubai to London and wanted to keep myself writing while studying for my MA and building my network of contacts for freelancing work. What turned out to be a bit of fun has turned into something so much more. I have a steady following now and I love the interaction with my readers and the freedom of publishing what I want when I want. The blog has also afforded me some fantastic opportunities and I’ve met so many amazing people. I’m so grateful.

What do you most love about your job?

I’m never bored and constantly inspired. What more could I ask for?

Tell us all about the book you’ve written?  What is it about and where can we get a taste of it?

Ah, the book. It’s called Walking Distance. It’s about a young woman who runs away from her dying husband to look for an old lover and a new life in Papua New Guinea and a wrinkly old man who travels around The Outback making shoes, bedding women and causing trouble. Their lives are linked, but I’m not going to tell you how. That would be giving too much away. I’m in the process of choosing an agent, which is really exciting, but if you want to read an extract, you can find it here.

Of course, I’ve read the the extract from Kate’s first novel and I can’t wait to get my copy (signed, I hope!) when it’s published…I’ll be sure to let you know when it’s out.  Don’t forget to check out her blog too ~ I love it, especially Tumblr Tuesdays!

Well that ends another inspiring people post…a big thank you to Kate for being here. Until next time, let yourself be inspired, enriched & delighted by life.

signature

all images were supplied by Kate McAuley.

5 thoughts on “Kate ~ writer, editor and sometimes photographer

  1. Pingback: monday morning regroup | i am not a celebrity

Leave a Reply

