Possums Beauty

Dee’s Dialogue is not only about the wonderful world of aromatherapy, spa & massage but all the things that enrich my life…so this week I’m talking to Carly from Possums Beauty in Port Douglas. Carly runs a fantastic business, is a happy & positive person – she inspires me to improve myself & my business.

Thank you for talking to us Carly…

Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I’m originally from Tasmania, where I was born and bred. When I was 22 I moved to the Gold Coast for 6 years and then to Port Douglas. I have 2 brothers, one in Melbourne who owns a designer vintage clothing store with his wife, & a little 2 year old brother in Tasmania. I’m engaged to Simon & we have 2 jack russells! I love walking on the beach with the dogs and reading books by the pool. Oh and eating! I love food! Enjoy spending time with good friends, and LOVE & miss my family!!!!
How long have you lived in Port Douglas?
Have been in Port for 3 years this June!
…and what brought you here?
We moved here for Simon’s work as a scuba diver instructor, he is now a skipper.
What inspires you?
Beautiful drives and places I see inspire me, getting out and about in nature, and then coming home to my comfort zone, these are the things I love.
A hairdresser that I first started my business with has always been a big inspiration to me, she worked hard and gave every client 120% every time, no matter how she felt. This is so important!!! There is so much bad customer service out there and people really notice when they get good service, which should be all the time!!
What are you passionate about?
I’m passionate about running a successful business, cooking, animals and sharing time with my family & friends.
Tell us about Possums Beauty
I love my job as a beautician and running my own business. I run Possums Beauty from my home in Port Douglas, providing professional beauty treatments including waxing, facials, natural spray tanning and more.
What do you most love about it?
I really love helping people feel good about themselves. I love knowing I have done my best when treating my clients and they leave feeling relaxed and happy.

I’m sure all of Carly’s clients leave feeling relaxed and happy. I remember the first time I visited Possums Beauty I instantly knew it wouldn’t be the last! I was greeted with a gorgeous smile from Carly & her naturally warm personality gave me a calm feeling & I knew I was in good hands. I still remember floating out on that first day after the most beautiful facial. Since then I’ve been back many many times…

all photos are © Deanne Kalda

Leave a Reply

